Post: Cricket Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 to 2023

About Author

About Author

Husain, the passionate author behind Biology2Minutes, shares his expertise, love for biology, and dedication to providing informative and engaging content.


Most-Winning-team-asia cup

Asia Cup  

The Asia Cup is a cricket tournament held among the Asian cricketing nations. It features teams from across the Asian continent, including prominent cricketing nations like India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and others. The Asia Cup has historically been played in the One Day International (ODI) format, but in recent years, there have been variations in the format, including T20I (Twenty20 International) tournaments.

Here’s some key information about the Asia Cup:

History: The Asia Cup was first held in 1984 in Sharjah, UAE. Since then, it has been held intermittently with varying formats, including round-robin and knockout stages.

Participating Teams: The mainstay teams in the Asia Cup are India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh. Other Asian teams such as Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Nepal and the United Arab Emirates have also participated in some editions.

Format: The format of the Asia Cup has evolved over the years. It has been played as a round-robin tournament followed by semi-finals and finals. In some editions, it has been held as a T20I tournament.

Host Countries: The Asia Cup has been hosted by various countries in Asia, including the United Arab Emirates, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and others. The host nation may vary from one edition to another.

Asia Cup winners so far

Year        Winner        Runner up      Place

1984        India           Sri Lanka       Sharjah

1986        Sri Lanka   Pakistan      Columbo

1988         India          Sri Lanka      Dhaka

1990/91   India        Sri Lanka      Kolkata

1995         India          Sri Lanka     Sharjah

1997         Sri Lanka      India       Columbo

2000        Pakistan   Sri Lanka      Dhaka

2004        Sri Lanka       India        Columbo

2008         Sri Lanka       India        Karachi

2010          India          Sri Lanka   Dambulla

2012         Pakistan  Bangladesh   Mirpur

2014         Sri Lanka    Pakistan      Mirpur

2016          India         Bangladesh   Mirpur

2018          India         Bangladesh    Dubai

2022          Sri Lanka   Pakistan        Dubai

2023          India          Sri Lanka    Columbo

Asia Cup winning captain

Year          Captain                         Team

1984         Sunil Gavaskar             India 

1986         Dalip Mendis              Sri Lanka

1988         Dilip Vengsarkar           India

1990/91  Mohammad Azharuddin  India

1995        Mohammad Azharuddin  India

1997         Arjuna Ranatunga         Sri Lanka

2000         Moin Khan                       Pakistan

2004         Marvan Atapattu          Sri Lanka

2008         Mahela Jayawardene  Sri Lanka

2010         Mahendra Singh Dhoni   India

2012         Misbah-ul-Haq               Pakistan

2014         Angelo Mathews            Sri Lanka

2016         Mahendra Singh Dhoni    India

2018         Rohit Sharma                      India

2022         Dasun Shanaka                Sri Lanka

2023         Rohit Sharma                      India

 Five batsmen who have scored the most runs in the Asia Cup

  1. Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka) 25 Match – 1220 runs
  2. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) 24 Match – 1075 runs
  3. Sachin Tendulkar (India) 23 Match – 971 runs
  4. Rohit Sharma (India) 28 Match – 939 runs
  5. Mushfiqur Rahim (Bangladesh) 25 Match – 839 runs

Five bowlers who took the most wickets in Asia Cup

  1. Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka) 24 Match – 30 wickets
  2. Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)14 Match – 29 wickets
  3. Ajanta Mendis (Sri Lanka) 8 Match – 26 wickets
  4. Said Ajmal (Pakistan) 12 Match – 25 wickets
  5. Chaminda Vass (Sri Lanka) 19 Match – 23 wickets


Husain, the passionate author behind Biology2Minutes, shares his expertise, love for biology, and dedication to providing informative and engaging content.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top